Skip to content

Sunny Kitchen

May 10, 2011

It is amazing to me how a simple task like baking can bring me a few moments of serenity in an otherwise busy and bustling day.

Flour and butter, eggs and cream.  The weighing, the mixing, the rolling out.  A pastry case turned into quiche, scones rising in the oven and eaten still warm.  Sunshine in the kitchen, warming as it touches.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. ontheliteside permalink
    May 11, 2011 11:55 am

    Emma, this brings a little poetry to the day, doesn’t it? I am moved by, and I find serenity in, the same things: simple daily activities that appeal to the senses and quieten the mind. I also liked your former post on motherhood (although I didn’t react to it for lack of time): becoming a mum has also changed me, or rather, I think it has revealed things that were deep inside me. One of them being able to love so much, sooo beyond my own self, and with such devotion!

  2. May 11, 2011 1:22 pm

    Oh, yum. A feast for the eyes and the tum!

    • emmalina73 permalink
      May 16, 2011 8:47 pm

      There is nothing like a bit of feeding up to lighten the mood!

Leave a Reply

