Skip to content

Sweet as Pie

September 22, 2009

What better way to celebrate the official turn of the year than with a pie?  With my lovely pal coming over to visit I was inspired to make an apple and damson pie to share with her.

pie

Despite my bad timing meaning the pie ended up being to-go, we had a lovely morning and the pie has already had some attention.  It is strange that I now seem to be obsessed with making pastry as it really wasn’ t that long ago that it was my arch nemesis.  I decided that it wasn’t going to get the better of me and, as my dad suggested, simply put in a lot of practice.

Today’s pie is the first I’ve made that I’m really pleased with.  The filling of apple and damson is tart and refreshing, just right for a blustery but still warm autumn day.  And the colour…literally edible.

filling

The steam rising from the filling wafted through the kitchen with a fragrance as fruity as it was flavourful (try saying that with no teeth in).   I will admit to a couple of false starts with the pastry but the finished product seems unaffected.

pie 2

And who was first to try my purple filled pie?  A certain junior kindergartener requested ‘pie for lunch’ and who am I to refuse?  So pie for lunch it was.  Followed by a cheese sandwich.  Followed by more pie.  I think he likes it.

lunch 1

lunch 2

lunch 3

Who is the yummier, the pie or the boy?  Okay, I know that answer to that question, but I am still pretty pleased with my pie.  An autumnal achievement indeed.

pastry

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2009 7:36 pm

    Aww your sweet boy and his curls and big brown eyes so cute!! : )
    Your pie looks and sounds lovely, yum!

  2. September 28, 2009 5:00 pm

    Hey how come you didn’t invite me over for pie? I LOVE pie!!!!
    Maybe next time! For now I will enjoy your tips – my pies are never as pretty!

    • emmalina73 permalink
      October 1, 2009 2:10 pm

      You are welcome any time my friend!

  3. October 5, 2009 6:32 pm

    Congrats, Emmalina – you won the leg warmer giveaway on my blog! You can contact Marija at EC Wear to arrange the details: marija@ecwear.com.

    🙂 Meg

Leave a Reply

